MNE 2015 Fellowship Award

To promote micro- and nano-engineering in Europe, the MNE Steering Committee recognize every year a researcher or engineer who has made outstanding contributions to fields addressed by the MNE conference. The aim is to honour a researcher or engineer who has strong research roots in Europe by having worked in Europe for an important part of his or her career. The successful candidate must have inspired the MNE community by his or her leadership or outstanding work. This could, for example, be through leadership in the successful development and commercialization of a technology, the pioneering of a method or development of a tool with significant impact on current research or manufacturing methods, or an outstanding invention.

This year’s price will be conferred to

Dr. Emile van der Drift,

former representative of the Netherlands in the International Steering Committee of MNE and technology leader and innovator at TU Delft.

The award ceremony will take place during a Plenary Session of the MNE Conference.

In previous years the MNE Fellowship was bestowed to :

  • Dr. Haroon Ahmed from University of Cambridge (founder of Microengineering conference, which became the Micro & Nanoengineering conference) at MNE 2003, Cambridge
  • Dr. Peter Vettiger from IBM Research – Zurich at MNE 2005, Vienna
  • Dr. Mike Hatzakis from NCSR Demokritos Athens at MNE 2006, Barcelona
  • Dr. Bruno Murari from ST Microelectronics at MNE 2010, Genoa
  • Dr. Luc Van den Hove from IMEC at MNE 2011, Berlin
  • Dr. Hans Löschner from IMS Nanofabrication AG in Austria at MNE 2012, Toulouse
  • Prof. Dr. Dieter Kern from the University of Tübingen at MNE 2014, Lausanne